A Light on Complexity

April 25, 2012 § Leave a comment

Anyone but a fool knows, in his soul,

That every part derives from this great whole.

For nature cannot be supposed to start

From some particular portion of mere part,

But from a whole and undisturbed perfection.

The world is such a vast, complicated, amazing place. There are so many different kinds of interactions…between humans, animals, insects, microscopic organisms, and so much more. It is amazing how just being outside in the woods, by a lake, stream, river, or even just in a field can stir beautiful feelings of peace and comfort inside you. There are so many things to do on this planet, yet the one thing that I find more satisfying than most is to just sit and admire the complex, beautiful, and simple things that were created.

You have to allow a certain amount of time in which you are doing nothing in order to have things occur to you, to let your mind think. ~Mortimer J. Adler

Watching the animals and insects interact, or a river flowing are things that tend to clear my thoughts. It is then I can let my thoughts wander.  That is when I tend to have brilliant epiphanies, like why a high five is called a high five. Yes, I could just look this up on the internet, but then again, why not exercise my brain and find out some things for myself. Why not let the light bulb turn on and the pieces click into place? It is so satisfying when you allow this to happen.

The longer I live, the more my mind dwells on the beauty and wonder of the world. ~John Burroughs

When you really think about the world and particular things in it, you have to admit, it is impossibly complex…too complex for it to be a coincidence. It is true, the longer I live, I think about the beauty, wonder, and complexity of the world even more. When I was younger I was more concerned with what I had, playing, and the interactions I had with other people, but now to observe the world and let my mind wander for even a few minutes is satisfying, as is simply talking to people and building relationships, or reading God’s Word.

~It’s the Simple Things~

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Light on Complexity at Roots Growing Deep.

meta

