Glossing: Sonnets 116 & 27

April 25, 2012 § Leave a comment

So in school we had to creatively recite two Sonnets by William Shakespeare, Sonnet 116 and Sonnet 27. I decided to simultaneously recite and sign one sonnet at a time…it is very hard to imagine how difficult this is until you have done it! Especially since American Sign Language is a completely different language.

Now, glossing can be rather difficult work when you have lots of English phrases that wouldn’t make sense in another language, which is exactly what these sonnets include, thanks to Shakespeare. When you gloss, not only are there those phrases that you have to translate, but you have to basically figure out what everything means so what you are signing makes sense. Now, people have been trying for a very long time to figure out what Shakespeare is saying in his poems, it generally takes professors and Dr.s and such people. Needless to say, my glossing isn’t perfect or close to perfect, but I did the best I could to figure out what Shakespeare meant in these sonnets.

Another challenge is, when you simultaneously sign and speak a sonnet, or anything else for that matter, you have to sign a different word than you speak. Basically, you are saying two completely different things in two completely different languages, but with the same meaning…which is extremely difficult to do.  I really like both of these sonnets and may post a response to one of them later on, but for now, I am just going to share the glossing work I did for them.

Sonnet 116:                                            

Let me not speak against love

Love is constant change happen

Love doesn’t fade happen lover leave

No! Love is the rock tower

Storm happens tower continues firm

Love like N.Star for ever roam ship

Can measure distance but can’t measure worth

Lovers die but time doesn’t control love

Love doesn’t change year-after-year

Love continues forever whatever happens

Happen myself wrong

I never wrote anything, nobody love

Sonnet 27:

Work work work tired, hurry to bed

Precious rest for body. Why? Because travel

Start journey in my thoughts

Continue thinking happen body work finished

My thoughts not near

Purpose zealous journey to you

Continue my tired eyes awake

Looking darkness happen like blind person

But my soul imagination

Show your picture

Your beauty like jewel in terrible night

Old night becomes beautiful why because you

Happen in day my body, in night my mind

We can’t rest

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Glossing: Sonnets 116 & 27 at Roots Growing Deep.

meta

