Reflections

May 26, 2012 § Leave a comment

I’ve never liked growing up. When I was little, I hated it even more. Now it isn’t too bad. I mean, getting your license and turning 18 are two major life goals, right? All you can do is live wisely and cherish the beauty of life.

It would be wrong to say that I won’t miss being a child, though still some would consider me that. Seemingly, most adults and teens would tell you that they miss their childhood… I guess I was just a very smart child for missing my childhood when I was still living it.

I miss playing hide and seek in the dark at Bible study with friends. (I think that that’s where that tradition started, though I don’t play it with these particular friends anymore.) I miss all of our trampoline games…those universal and those solely indigenous to my house. Staring up at the night sky with all those stars twinkling overhead…realizing how vast and magnificent the universe is, even discussing the existence of demons. Yes, we discussed things of that kind at a young age. But on that exact topic, when a shooting star streaked across the sky, we were scared so much that we ran inside…our imagination constantly got the better of us.

My best friends and I built forts, shot bows, explored the forest, fought with quartarstaffs until we got bloody knuckles, made secret hideouts, built fire rings, and played Robin Hood. Again, not typical girl stuff, but we have never been typical people. Of course we did do many girly things, such as arrange our hair like a princess’s, pick flowers, play hula-hoop, wear tiaras, wear our moms’ makeup, play house, cook things we found in the outdoors, and play dress up—mostly all at my insistence, still we were anything but typical and still are.

It is so ironic that you hear the saying, “You’ll never know how much you’ll miss it until it’s gone,” yet this saying is capable of holding steadfastly to its veracity. You may know something is true, but you may not be able to fully comprehend its truth until you experience it.

People are capable of greatness. Touching people’s lives through service is one of the highest tasks in existence. Many do this in ignorance. Recently a friend of mine went to work through an internship. I never really realized how awesome he was…until he was no longer here for me to not associate with him every Sunday. Isn’t  that how it is with everyone? As kids, we were good friends, and I was also good friends with his brother, but that all changed as we grew up and children’s play no longer connected us with it’s fragile bond. Now that we have grown up, we finally started talking again, via email, because he goes to college many states away. We finally have become friends again, and I’m so glad we have. His younger brother and I have become friends again as well, though only through short conversations.

Finally, I’ve grown to understand that old addage.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reflections at Roots Growing Deep.

meta

