The Seven Point Plot Structure

December 22, 2012 § Leave a comment

S. E. L U N D

From Lisa Bouchard’s Website: Looks like great advice! I think I might use this for my current WIP:


The seven points are:

  • Hook
  • Plot Turn 1
  • Pinch 1
  • Midpoint
  • Pinch 2
  • Plot Turn 2
  • Resolution
  • Ice Monster Prologue (OK, so this is optional, but can be used effectively)

You don’t develop your plot this way, though. Here’s the order you work in:

  • Protagonist
  • Antagonist
  • Setting
  • Resolution – This is the climax, not the denouement. Everything leads up to this point and you need to know what happens here, and whether it’s plot-based, external conflict or whether it’s character-based internal conflict.
  • Hook – This is the opposite state of the resolution, automatically creating an arc of progress. You must get your readers invested in the story with your hook or risk them putting your book down after the first few pages and never buying another written by you.
  • Midpoint –…

View original post 542 more words


Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Seven Point Plot Structure at Roots Growing Deep.


%d bloggers like this: