The Blooming Rose

May 21, 2013 § Leave a comment

This poem is so beautiful and a lovely lead in to the new school year heading our way.

The Squatting Sasquatch

by Anonymous

(written in 1919, found stuck between the pages of a book)

 

What is it like, to be a rose?

 

Old roses, softly, “Try and see.”

 

Nay, I will tarry. Let me be

In my green peacefulness and smile.

I will stay here and dream awhile.

‘Tis well for little buds to dream,

Dream–dream–who knows–

Say, is it good to be a rose?

Old roses, tell me! Is it good?

 

Old roses, very softly,”Good.”

 

I am afraid to be a rose!

This little sphere wherein I wait,

Curled up and small and delicate,

Lets in a twilight of pure green,

Wherein are dreams of night and morn

And the sweet stillness of a world

Where all things are that are unborn.

 

Old rose,“Better to be born.”

 

I cannot be a bud for long.

My sheath is like a heart…

View original post 47 more words

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Blooming Rose at Roots Growing Deep.

meta

