Ode to a Lost Sock

May 4, 2014 § 1 Comment

You

Were the best,

My dearest.

And now that you’re gone,

I see just how much

You

Mean to me.

Your bright colors,

Salmon and sky blue argyle,

And soft, faded fabric

Cradled my feet

Catching my toes in loose strings.

I doubt you really loved me,

For your other half

Captured your affections

Long before I could,

But your loyalty stayed.

O cruel world ripped

You

away.

Others tormented

By our bond,

You,

The laundry room

And careless college students

Plotted against,

To separate us

Forever.

You

Were the best,

My dearest.

And I’ll never forget

You.

 

By Emilie Brooker and Mercia Tremblac

§ One Response to Ode to a Lost Sock

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ode to a Lost Sock at Roots Growing Deep.

meta

